Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Beauty gurus always say you should play up your best feature. For me, that would have to be my eyes. I absolutely love making up my eyes in various looks, and using eyeliner is an essential part of that process. Eyeliner can be transforming, it can make you into anything you want to be. Mysterious, sexy, alluring, even innocent. It all depends on how you want to play up your style. Keep reading for my best eyeliner picks on a dime.

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner

I’ve tried a few gel eyeliners and have always ended up hating them either because they irritated my sensitive eyes or were too hard to apply correctly. This gel eyeliner has far exceeded my expectations. Not only does it offer me the chance to build up to the intensity that I want, but its waterproof, smudgeproof, and even irritation proof! This is also one of the long-lasting gel eyeliners I’ve tried that actually lives up to its long-lasting claim. I also love that it comes with its own brush and set of instructions for people who’ve never used gel eyeliner before or just want a refresher course. (Walmart, $8)

CoverGirl Liquiline Blast Eyeliner

This product is great for an intense, girl’s night out look. A variety of exotic shades, from Blackfire to Green Glow, these liners are great for experimenting with different smokey eyes and dramatic looks. I loved the liquid feel and the attached smudger for blend-ability. When paired with CoverGirl’s Shadowblast and LashBlast mascara, my eyes were indeed a dramatically different suitable for painting the town red! (Drugstore.com, $7)

Almay Truly Lasting Eyeliner 

What I love about Almay’s Truly Lasting Eyeliner is that they offer different shades depending on your eye color. For my green eyes, Almay recommended their Raisin Quartz color which is a superb plum/brown color. When paired with Almay’s Truly Lasting Eyeshadown Trio for Green Eyes, my eyes really did seem to pop! A built in sharpener, a silky smooth application, and hypoallergenic, this eyeliner really fit the bill for me. The only issue I will mention is that if you’re looking for a more dramatic look, this eyeliner probably isn’t for you. The eyeliner is sheer and is meant to complement their specific eye-shadow pallet. It goes on lighter than a normal eyeliner and I found I had to outline my eyes a few times to get the color a bit darker. With that being said, it’s a great eyeliner to use during the daytime or at office gatherings as its not over-the-top dramatic. (CVS, $8)

Other great budget-friendly eyeliners to try include Revlon ColorStay Eyeliner, Neutrogena Nourishing Eyeliner, and L’Oreal Infallible Eyeliner for great definition, color selection, and conditioning extracts for sensitive eyes. (Drugstores, $5-10)

Whichever eyeliner you choose, find one that works with your personal style. Or better yet, experiment with different shades, textures, and formulas. It doesn’t have to be Halloween for you to try out that amazing electric blue glitter liner from Urban Decay that you’ve been eyeing. The important thing to remember is that you can afford great liner looks just by going to your nearest drugstore. Eyeliner doesn’t have to be expensive to give you what you need.

