Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the most costly makeup products for most women out there would have to be foundation. I know when I first started experimenting with this type of makeup, I’d buy the cheapest foundation I could find, in a color way to darkfor my skin, and slather it on like it waslotion. Sometimes, you really do get what you pay for (as evidenced by my $1.99 special at Pic N Save). However, you can still get budget friendly foundation without sacrificing quality, color and coverage. Read on to learn more.

Mineral Makeup

A favorite mineral makeup of mine would have to be Bare Escentuals bareminerals SPF 15 foundation. Available in Original or Matte coverage, its formulated without any of the icky stuff (think synthetic dyes, sulfates, etc) and comes in a variety of shades to suit any skin tone. It’s light-as-air feel makes my complexion glow and I love the fact that I can build up to the exact amount of coverage I need. Ranging in price from $26-28, it can be a splurge but its long-lasting and a little goes a long way! (Sephora, $26-28)

A cheaper alternative would be Cover Girl TruBlend Mineral Loose Powder, available in four silky shades. I love the fluffy application puff but I would also recommend using a kabuki brush for a more buffed on effect. The coverage is decent for the price, and my skin looked healthy and radiant after just one use. (Drugstores, $8)

For a very budget-friendly mineral makeup find, I’d recommend e.l.f Mineral Foundation. I loved that it had Vitamin E built into the formula to help moisturize my skin as well as SPF 15. With 5 different shades to choose from, virtually any woman could find a shade to suit her skin tone. And at $5 bucks a pop, it’s a steal! (eyeslipsface.com, $5).

Liquid

My personal pick for a solid liquid foundation would be Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse Foundation. It provides an amazing silky feel to my skin and offers just the right amount of coverage for that airbrushed look. In shades ranging from Ivory to Cocoa, you’re sure to find the shade that’s right for you. (Drugstores, $8) 

Other liquid alternatives include Cover Girl Clean Liquid Makeup (Drugstores, $5) and Physicians Formula Sun Shield Liquid Makeup which with it’s added SPF makes this makeup a hit for women everywhere. (Drugstores, $12). 

Powder

I don’t usually use powder for my go-to foundation, but these picks are the exceptions to that rule. My personal favorite is Too Faced Amazing Face SPF 15 Foundation Powder. A few select shades to choose from ranging from Nude to Beige, this powder does miracles for my skin. It makes my skin look lit from within and doesn’t feel cakey or dry like most powder foundations I’ve used. Plus, its great at controlling oil (think troubled T-Zone). (Amazon, $30).

Cheaper powder alternatives include CoverGirl Powder Foundation, a lightweight coverage perfect for evening out your skin tone. (Drugstores, $5). Maybelline Powder Foundation is another great alternative when you want your skin to look and feel fresh for hours. (Drugstores, $6)

Overall, no matter what foundation you choose, make sure you pick the shade that’s complementary to your skin tone. There’s nothing worse than picking a foundation too light or too dark for your skin! Try samples on in natural lighting to see how it blends into your skin. Harsh, fluorescent lighting is no girls friend! Whichever formula you choose, there is a perfect foundation out there for you that’s got quality AND budget friendly written all over it!

