Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you follow my blog, you may have heard me mention before that beauty isn’t just about following the latest makeup trends or styling your hair the perfect way. It’s also about feeling good on the inside.

I recently had to go on a no dairy, no soy diet due to some breastfeeding issues my son and I were having. He’s allergic to cow’s milk protein and any dairy or soy in my diet seriously affects his tummy. =( Needless to say, it was incredibly hard for me to give up dairy. No ice cream, cheese, coffee creamers, sour cream, chocolate,nada. Zilch.   I have a serious sweet tooth and I knew that was going to be the toughest part about being dairy and soy free.

Luckily, my local Whole Foods store rescued me! I found a great brand of sweets that are free of the most 8 common allergens, including dairy and soy. It’s called Enjoy Life and let me tell you.. I do! I’ve tried their soft baked cookies in Double Chocolate Brownieand they’re so delicious I don’t even miss the real thing! Okay… well maybe a little. But you get my point. Super soft, perfectly moist, and tastes great. A little pricey at just under $5 a box, but worth it when you’re craving a sweet treat. They also have a variety of cereals, granolas, and chewy bars when you want something a bit healthier and allergen-free.

It’s been hard changing up my diet. But my son is completely worth it. And honestly, I feel so much better now that I’m eating right. Even when I stop breastfeeding, I think I’ll stick to minimizing dairy products. It will help my overall health and my waistline!

Have you ever had to change up your diet for any reason? How did you deal with it? Any food suggestions for me? As always, I’d love to hear your feedback. Stay beautiful!

