Tags

, , , ,

Forgive me for straying from the main theme of this blog, but ever since becoming a mom, I’ve realized so much about babies and about myself. For my fellow moms out there, let me know if you agree with what I’ve said!

1. You will get sleep… eventually. It might not be 8 hours sleep straight through for the first few months but you will be able to catch a few zzz’s. Nap when the baby naps is so true! That’s the only way I’ve really been able to stay mostly sane throughout these past 2 1/2 months. And trust me… your baby will be sleeping through the night before you know it. And you might end up missing those middle of the night feeding/bonding sessions. Maybe… =)

2. Babies need there mommies….for everything! Whoever said babies are hard work made a serious understatement. Babies are constantly in need of your attention. And, if you happen to be a breastfeeding or partially breastfeeding momma, it seems they need you even more. I’ve learned that not only am I a milk cow, but I’m also a human pacifier. My little guy cannot seem to get to sleep at night without using me for comfort! Not that I really mind it. I know that all too soon he’ll grow out of this stage and will one day not need me as much.

3. Disposable Diapers aren’t nearly as tough….as you’d want them to be! For something so pricey, you’d expect quality. Especially the named brand diapers! However, I’ve learned that these so called “name brands” are just that… a freaking name! They don’t speak of the quality of the diaper at all. You know how many Pampers my child has leaked through?! And its NOT because I put the diaper on too loose or waited to long to change him. Don’t spend extra on diapers just because they have a popular name. Target’s up and up brand is sooo much cheaper and imo much better quality.

4. Don’t be suprised….that your baby spits up tons! Apparently between the ages of 2 months and 4 months, babies ability to spit up food will be quite apparent. It may scare you because it looks way worse than it usually is. My son spits up constantly and usually right after I’ve put a fabulously cute outfit on him! Don’t worry. It happens. I’ve found that keeping him upright for at least 10 minutes after burping him will help settle his stomach.

5. You will be doing laundry…..a-lot! But don’t feel like you have to get special baby detergent. I use Dreft because I really like the smell but its not necessary to use detergent specifically margeted towards babies. However, I would advise you to use detergent that is dye and fragrance free as babies do have super sensitive skin. They can’t handle scents and the like as well as adults can.

6.Trust in the swaddle….seriously!Swaddling, when they’re first born, is a lifesaver. It keeps them warm and does wonders for helping them sleep. Unfortunately for me, my son quickly grew out of wanting to be swaddled once he started figuring out he had arms to wave around in the air! But if you can do it, keep up the swaddling. It will usually keep him content until he can be in yours or daddy’s arms again.

7.Stroller/Carseat Combos are….A-MAZZZZZZING!I really wanted a convertible carseat. I thought it was a better investment as it could grow with my child. My mom picked out and purchased a super nice one for me. My guy installed it and we were all set to take him home in it. Well when it actually came time to bring the little guy home the carseat completely dwarfed him. He was so tiny and the carseat wouldn’t allow him to comfortably recline. Thank goodness my dad bought us a stroller/carseat combo. It’s been fantastic. Super easy to install and the ease of transporting him from car to stroller to car to house is just superb.

8. You’ll have down days….but cheer up! I’ve had days where I’ve felt like the worst mom on Earth. I’ve had issues with breastfeeding from the beginning and have had to do a combination of breastfeeding and formula feeding since Day 1. I’ve come to accept it, mostly, that this is our nursing relationship. It doesn’t mean I’ve failed as a mother or that there’s something wrong with me. Crap happens. You deal with it as best you can and then you move on. You want to spend as much time as you can being happy with your baby because soon enough he won’t be that little baby anymore. Take walks, read books, sing songs. Be silly and have fun! They’re only little for so long.

While these aren’t the only things I’ve learned, I wanted to share the few tidbits of wisdom I had for any new moms or moms who needed encouragement or advice. Thanks for listening. As always, stay beautiful!

