Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve never tried faux eyelashes before. I’ve wanted to but was always filled with trepidation. I’ve never been a huge fan of putting things in (or, in this case.. on) my eyes/lashes. I don’t mind eyeliner so much but it took me forever to venture into mascara territory! I have a serious eye phobia and coupled with super sensitive eyes, well, you can understand why I would be hesitant to try something that involves using adhesive!

However, due to a recent gig as a beauty ambassador for Bloom.com I was graciously sent a set of fake lashes from Winks by Georgie. They have 3 pieces in their collection. I was sent style No.2, which is the “L’avant-Gardiste”.

First off, lets start by reviewing the packaging. It was super cute, prettier than I had expected. The lashes are packaged in a very pretty white box with decorative teal fans. I’ve never seen fake eyelashes packaged so nicely before.

Upon opening the box, I was again shocked. The eyelashes were encased in a sleek black compact. It was gorgeous!

Once I opened the compact, I saw the eyelashes resting snugly in the compact with the adhesive in its own little spot. And again… total suprise, but the compact came with a mirror! I can totally reuse this once the eyelashes are no longer wearable. Score!!

So, at this point, I’m already impressed with Winks by Georgie just with the packaging alone. But now, the hard part. Since I’m a virgin when it comes to applying these things, I had to read (and re-read) the directions to make sure I knew exactly what to do.

Directions

1. Hold fake lashes up to natural lashes. Trim any excess for a perfect fit.

2. Draw a thin line of adhesive onto the faux lash, paying attention to corners.

3. Bend the lash into a horseshoe shape for 60 seconds so that adhesive becomes tacky.

4. Place the center of the faux lash onto your natural lash line and gently press down each side. (Get as close to your lash line as you can).

5. Pinch your real lashes and your faux lashes together to better blend.

Sounds easy, right?

In all honesty, it was pretty simple. I only had to apply (and reapply) three times before I got the hang of it. Not bad, considering I’ve never been in fake lash territory before! I loved the drama these lashes added to my eyes. This product was of superior quality, not at all flimsy. I really feel as if I could get multiple uses out of these without them falling apart. I also think that the price of $28 isn’t bad considering the quality of lashes you recieve. Another perk is that I didn’t feel like I had to rip them off my eyelids after I was done with them for the night as they glide right off. Any gunk left over from the adhesive is a breeze to remove; simply roll it away with your fingertips. My eyes weren’t irritated by either the lashes or the adhesive. As an added perk, these lashes are vegan and PETA approved. Score for animal lovers everywhere! =)

Anything bad about these, you ask? Honestly, no! The only thing I can think of is that if you’ve never worn false lashes before it does take some getting used to. But, just as with artificial nails and the like, once you’ve worn them for a few days they’ll probably start to feel like a second skin. I would definitely recommend following the directions exactly as stated. As long as you do that, you’ll have no problem applying these lashes. Pressing from the center outwards is really the best way to apply these babies!

Overall, I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to add more drama and flair to their makeup routine. They’re perfect for everyday use as well as for date night or to an office party. If you’re looking for a great way to add oomph to your beauty routine, then I’d say try Winks by Georgie. Each of the 3 lash choices can be found and purchased here. Thanks for stopping by! Let me know what you think of Winks by Georgie or if you’ve ever had a good (or bad) faux lash experience.

Me, in my faux lash glory!

Disclaimer: This product was sent to me for my fair and honest review. All opinions are my own unless otherwise stated. 

