Tags

, , , , , ,

So I was super excited to get my themed Gossip Girl Birchbox this month! Its my first time trying Birchbox and I’ve heard some pretty mixed reviews on this subscription service and wanted to see how it measured up. For those of you not in the know, Birchbox is a monthly subscription service where for $10 a month, you recieve 4-5 beauty samples (sometimes a full product and suprise extras) of popular beauty brands. You can check them out here.

So first off, I have to say the packaging is super cute! The products are packaged in a nice, sturdy brown box with Birchbox’s signature pink logo on the front. This month, they had an additional sleeve on the box touting Gossip Girl, a hit television show on the CW. The inside of the box has all the products nicely nestled on bright yellow tissue paper, which was very pretty. As far as presentation goes, Birchbox gets an A+.

Unfortunately, the A+ rating doesn’t continue… Upon opening the box, I was seriously dissapointed. Here’s why…

These products in and of themselves aren’t necessarily bad. But they aren’t what I was expecting. Now, to be fair, I wasn’t expecting the samples to be super large. That’s not what a sample is and I get that. But upon researching other ladies who recieved a May Gossip Girl Birchbox, I feel that my box was a little on the chintzy side. Others recieved a Stila Smudge Stick, a full size Lip Fusion Conditioning Balm and Ojon Hair items. So, I don’t know… seems a little meh to me.

However, I did try out the products and I’ll tell you what I like or don’t like about them.

1. Dr. Jart++ Water Fuse BB Balm (0.06 oz) and 2. Fresh Sugar Rose Tinted Lip Treatment (0.08 oz)

These are my two favorite products out of the box. I wish they had included a slightly bigger size of the BB but I digress. I swatched the BB on my hand and I was instantly impressed. It blended quite nicely into my skintone and the coverage was very lightweight and not at all drying. I haven’t tried it on my face yet but I will let y’all know when I do. But so far, I like it. The full size, I believe, is $32.

The Fresh Sugar Rose Lip Treatment is also nice. It’s a super bright red in the tube but goes on quite sheer for just a hint of color. I’m not a big lipstick girl so I like these types of balms that just give a little color. Plus it felt really nice and moisturizing on my lips. I’ve been wanting to try out a Fresh Sugar lip treatment for awhile so I liked that this product was included in my box.

The other products, however, I’m just not thrilled over. I recieved a Twistband Hair Tie that immediately was lost. Not a big deal since it didn’t stay in my hair anyways….The Atelier Cologone Vanille Insensee smells like an old woman perfume so definitely trashing that. And the Color Club Nail Polish in Disco Nap is nice but the smell is very, very offputting. I don’t know if I recieved a bad bottle but it smells more potent that any of my other nail polishes. The color is a really nice, metallic gold shimmer but the smell just ruins it and makes me reluctant to use it.

So, overall, I’m not too impressed with Birchbox as of yet. I plan on continuning my subscription for a few more months to see if the products improve. There are so many beauty subscription sites out there that I’d like to try so if Birchbox doesn’t work out, I’m sure I’ll find one that will.

What have been your experiences with Birchbox or other beauty subscription sites? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

