Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

As part of my work as a Bloom Ambassador, I recieve beauty products to test and try out every month. This month, in addition to the Kaia Cleansing Cloths I recieved, I also was able to try out some sample cards of Stila’s “In the Moment” and “In the Garden” eyeshadows. While the pictures didn’t turn out as great as I’d have hoped (and I plan on trying to achieve better quality ones) the palettes far exceeded my expectations. Here’s my review on both palettes below.

Pros

This is me, wearing shades from Stila “In the Garden”. The pictures aren’t great, as noted earlier, but my eyes look rockin’ so I had to show em off! In this picture, I am wearing the shades Chinois, Breeze, Nectar, Honey and Moss. I am also wearing my LashFood mascara and liquid eyeliner which I blogged about in a previous post. I love how this palette really made my eyes stand out. The shades are very neutral, earth-like tones and compliment my fair skin. The colors are very pigmented, showing up great and have amazing staying power. I was able to apply my shadows in the early morning and still have them looking new by late afternoon. The sample cards we were sent were also very generous. I have used them a few times and still have probably one or two more uses out of them. My favorite shade would probably be Moss and Breeze. Moss is a great stand alone shade but also doubles nicely as a liner, especially when applied wet. Breeze is a great overall lid color that would probably suit most anyone’s skintone.

This is me, wearing my Stila “In the Moment” shadows. I used the shades Instinct, Desire, Wonder, Spontaneous and Whim. I was a little hesistant at first as I’m not used to wearing darker shades. But these paired nicely with my skintone and are great shades for a subtle smoky eye. For a darker, more traditional smokey eye, I’d recommend the shades glance, improvise, and catalyst. As with the “In the Garden” palette, these stayed on for a substantial amount of time and made my eyes really pop. I love trying out new shades and these didn’t dissapoint.

Cons

I can’t say these products dissapointed me. The only catch I saw was that I wasn’t able to wear these shades without applying primer. If I’m in a hurry and want to just jet out the door I like being able to skip the primer. Some of the shadows I already use allow me to do this. These Stila shadows, however, do not. When I didn’t apply primer, my shadows smudged and creased. Not exactly the look I was going for, but not enough of a problem to deter me from purchasing the full-sized pallete in the future.

Final Review: 4/5

These shadows have amazing staying power, great shades suitable for most skintones, and at $39 for the full-sized product, not a bad steal. Just remember to apply primer before using these shades to prevent the smudges and creases. If you’re looking for a great shade collection, I highly recommend purchasing either the Stila “In the Moment” or “In the Garden” collection. Both sets can be purchased here.

Disclaimer: All products were sent to me for my fair and honest review as part of the Bloom Ambassador program. All opinions are my own unless otherwise stated.

