Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is another product review of my fabulous Bloom Ambassador Box!! If you haven’t tried out Bloom.com yet, seriously, check it out!! 365 Day Love It Guarantee, Bloom Bonus Dollars on every purchase, and a fab group of women giving you honest reviews of drugstore brands to more luxe items. Click here to sign up! Now, for the first review….!!

First, the Stila In The Know Eyeshadow Palette really made an impression on me.

These are just a few of the looks I created with my palette.

Pros

The palette is seriously one of the best palette’s I’ve ever used. I was given the opportunity to try two sample cards of Stila shadows in our last ambassador box and was just as impressed with them. So when I heard that I was given the option to choose a full-sized Stila palette, I obviously jumped on the opportunity.

The colors are all great, neutral earth tones. I really like them as I think they are perfect shades for Fall. I’m not big into crazy eye shadow colors. I don’t think I could pull them off and they can end up looking really tacky if you don’t know precisely what you’re doing. Seeing as how I’m not a professional makeup artist, I like to stick to shades I know look great on me and that I know how to apply. That being said, the Stila palette really fit the bill.

The staying power is amazing, the shades seem to be buildable as far as how much color you want, and they blend really nicely with one another. The added smudge stick in the palette is also amazing as it glides on smoothly and really makes my green eyes pop! My Too Faced Shadow Insurance Primer really made them stay on all day with no creases, smears, or smudges. Perfect!

The price is also right. At $39, you get 8 gorgeous shadows and a smudge stick all packaged nicely in a pretty case. To me, it’s a deal well worth the money! The reason the other two Stila sample cards got a 4/5 review were because I couldn’t see myself using all the colors included as some were just too bright for my tastes.

Cons

For me, this palette can do no wrong. However, I know that the price may be an issue for some so this is why I am listing it as a “possible” con. I don’t have the budget to buy palette’s like this all the time. But the great thing about this palette is that I think the colors will last a really long time making it a worthwhile investment.

Final Rating: 5/5

The great selection of autumnal colors, staying power, the cute smudge stick and the price all make this palette a no-brainer for me. These shadows can be used to make a classy day look or smoldering night look depending on how you combine them. If you’re in the market for a great shadow palette that isn’t too over the top, then Stila In The Know may be for you.

Lastly, the Dr. Dennis Gross Extra Strength Alpha Beta Peel (5 Applications) was also included in my ambassador box. It claims to smooth fine lines and wrinkles, shrink pores, and brighten skin. My thoughts?

Pros

The application process is a simple, two step deal. First, swipe the “Step 1” packet across your (clean) face in circular motions and wait 2 minutes. Then, swipe the “Step 2” packet in the same circular motions and voila, done. I loved the ease of application as I believe simple skincare regimes are easier to stick with then longer, more complicated ones. The tingly feeling was nice and made me think something had to be happening to my skin. I did also notice a tiny difference in the size of my pores. I’ve never had particularly large ones, per-say, but I did notice that they looked somewhat smoother and less noticeable.

Cons

Unfortunately, the list of cons is larger than the pros. We only had a 5 day sample packet so I’m not sure if the lacking results were because we weren’t able to use a large enough sample? However, I didn’t notice much in the way of anti-aging benefits, nor brighter skin. I also noticed that after every use of the peel, my skin became seriously red. I thought it was just the first initial use and my skin was adjusting to the ingredients in the peel but nope. The redness showed up again about 5 minutes after using the product and it stayed there for quite awhile. Major bummer. I figure it has to do with my sensitive skin and probably using something that’s extra-strength isn’t the smartest thing to do.

The price for a full-size supply is also ridiculous! $88 for 30 packets. I don’t know many women who could afford to spend that on a skincare product so I definitely won’t be purchasing this again as I know I could never afford that.

Final Rating: 3/5 

While I liked the small difference I saw in my pores and the tingly sensation, I didn’t like that my skin turned red, the price of a full supply, or the fact that I didn’t see much anti-aging benefits or brighter skin. I don’t think the price is worth it for what I experienced. But, I’m rating it a 3/5 as I’m giving the peel the benefit of the doubt that had I been able to use it longer than 5 days, I may have seen more of an improvement.

